Skip to content

Put Away Those Pins

March 15, 2011

During my pregnancy with Baby Girl (and with Big Girl too), I walked around sporting a PICC-line in my left bicep to keep myself out of the hospital due to dehydration/malnourishment.  For some reason pregnancy just doesn’t agree with me but that’s another story…

This time my OB wanted to make sure that my risk of clotting was low so he ordered blood thinners.  Not only did it mean purposely sticking myself with a needle twice a day, it meant being very aware and careful of all pins/needles I was working with on sewing projects.  The tiniest little pin prick meant the possibility of having to scrap a customer’s project and start over due to contamination.  So I came up with some clever ways around using pins.  (And you all remember how much I really dislike having to pin pieces anyway…)

Binder clips!

 

 

They hold the layers of fabric together really nicely.  They work on multiple layers of fabric (and gathers) where pins struggle to slide through.  They don’t leave holes in delicate fabric. AND they don’t hurt nearly as much — although they still do a little — when you step on a stray that makes its way off the table.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 15, 2011 12:57 pm

    What an awesome idea! I am going to have to give that a try. My dh is very tired of all the pins that end up around the house, and the clips seem a bit safer even around children. Thank you for sharing!

    • Amanda permalink
      March 15, 2011 3:31 pm

      I agree that it’s MUCH safer for the kids. My oldest plays on the floor in my sewing room most days while I sew, so it’s nice knowing that it’s not likely there are pins rolling around that she could hurt herself on.

Trackbacks

  1. A Stitch Tip « Stitch To Stitch

Leave a Reply

