Skip to content

In the Press

February 1, 2011

I mentioned that Baby Girl was born shortly after midnight on New Year’s (January 1st).  What I didn’t mention was that it made her the official New Year’s Baby for the area and a little more than 12 hours after an emergency c-section I was talking to a hospital room full of media people.  Yeah, that was LOTS of fun.

The news reporter from the local paper was talking to my husband and I about our professions as he gathered information for the article on Baby Girl.  It was brought up that I had made the transition –after being laid off– from working as a research scientist for the local University to running Stitch To Stitch and sewing children’s clothing.  He told us that the paper was interested in doing a story on local businesses that were started in response to economic downturn and asked if I’d be interested in being interviewed as part of the story.  I agreed and whole heartedly thought nothing would come of it.

Fast forward 2 weeks — my phone rings with a local number I didn’t recognize.  It was another reporter from the paper asking if I was still interested in talking to him about STS.  I agreed yet again (this time to being interviewed in the privacy of my home, after showering and dressing in something nicer than a hospital gown) and spent the next two nights frantically organizing the remaining chaos in my sewing room.  I had been in the midst of organizing when my water broke on New Year’s Eve and much of the newly painted room was still stacked in precarious piles.

After the interview, I was told the story *should* run in Sunday’s paper.  Little did I know what I had in store!  I stopped dead in my tracks that Sunday morning (January 23) when I saw this sitting on top of the stacks of papers…

 

 

It’s hard to see your face taking up that much space on the front page.  Even if you do *like* the picture.  😉

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Whimsy Couture permalink
    February 1, 2011 11:49 am

    Oh that is super awesome!!! FAME!!:)

    • February 1, 2011 2:21 pm

      That’s fabulous 🙂 I wondered why you were on the front page, but forgot to ask the last time we talked. Very cool!

  2. LazyMondays permalink
    March 5, 2011 1:19 pm

    That’s fantastic! What great publicity!

  3. March 6, 2011 1:31 pm

    I actually saw that article and was pretty proud of my fellow etsier even though I had no idea who it was 🙂

Leave a Reply

