Skip to content

Saturday Pattern Sharing 11/20/10

November 20, 2010

As ashamed as I am to admit it, I just can’t get into the practice of using reusable cloth shopping bags.  I’ve got pattern after pattern after pattern for them bookmarked on my computer, patterns for them in almost every sewing book I own.  I love the idea and functionality but for some reason I just can’t get past leaving them in the car.  Every time I’ve tried to use them I either forget them at home or leave them tucked in the seat pocket behind the driver’s seat when I jump out at the grocery store.

So yes, our home is one that brings homes hoards of plastic shopping bags.  I do use cut down on the waste by using them in all of our small trash cans for liners; I use them as packing material for shipping boxes (not STS stuff though!) to friends/family; and they make great waste receptacles when cleaning up dog “messes” in the yard.  😉  But the storage of them is unsightly.

This project desperately needs to be completed to help hide the embarrassment of my plastic bag usage.

 

Plastic Bag Keeper/Dispenser Pattern

 

My to do list never seems to get any shorter…

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 21, 2010 10:07 am

    I have a hard time making reusable bags when I can buy them for 99 cents at all the stores! I have a TON of them, but even though I keep them in my car I end up forgetting them half the time and get a ton of plastic bags. Which is ok since we need those for dog walking 🙂 I like the dispenser though, let me know how it turns out 😉

Leave a Reply

