Skip to content

Idea Overhaul

September 9, 2010

From the initial conceptualization of Stitch To Stitch, my hope was to stock the store with boutique clothes for both little girls AND little boys.  I wanted the store to showcase more than the typical female outfits — apparel for the brothers, coordinating sibling sets, etc.

Truthfully, it’s difficult to come up with good ideas for little boys clothing.

I found a great fabric line that I thought was going to work and started on an idea I’d had rumbling around in my head.  The skirt came out just as I’d envisioned it but the boy pants have left much to be desired.  Even my husband commented on how they just didn’t seem to “work” the way he knew I was hoping for.  I’ve scoured the limited selection of fabric stores in town to come up with an altered idea (nice pun, huh?).  Every trip has left me disheartened and empty-handed.  This pair of pants has hung in plain view for days, taunting me with their not quite right fabric combination and semblance.

What seems to be out of nowhere, the idea finally came to me.  I need to step back even further away from the original concept and the original fabrics and start from the basic building blocks.  Perhaps coming up with coordinating sibling outfits doesn’t mean using fabrics from a single design line.  Perhaps coming up with them means broadening my creative horizons, pulling in fabrics from different designers and line.  Perhaps even throwing in some varying textures as well.

The creative thought process has started from scratch but I think it’s going in a much better direction.  My hope is to have something pulled together in the next few days.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 9, 2010 10:43 am

    If anyone can come up with a creative answer to your question of how to make it “work” for you, it is you! You’re so insanely talented I have no doubt you’ll have something you love in no time 🙂

  2. Jess permalink
    September 15, 2010 6:03 am

    Will be anxious to see what you come up with 🙂

Leave a Reply

