Skip to content

A Plea for Help!

August 25, 2010

After the craziness of the last year (brain surgery and all), three of us started a new business in early June –Amanda, Jan and I (Viki). With her newly expanded brain, Amanda is trying her hand at being an honest to goodness seamstress and has opened a shop on this place they call Etsy.  She certainly loves what she does.  Although I’m a little biased, I think her work is fantastic.

It’s quite simple really.  There’s a division of labor amongst the three of us that rarely changes.  This division works well and when running smoothly, the three of us work together really well.

  • Amanda is the creative center: picking patterns and fabric, cutting everything out and coordinating the production/manufacturing.
  • Jan does the grunt work: serging raw fabric edges, gathering fabric for ruffles, rolled hems.
  • Viki (yours truly) does the aesthetic finishing work: top-stitching, decorative stitching and other fine techniques that are too delicate for Jan to handle.

We have a problem right now though.  Lately Jan doesn’t want to cooperate and is giving Amanda fits.

We’re supposed to be sewing this gorgeous fabric into a beautiful twirl skirt:

Instead Amanda’s fretting. Muttering about “loopers” and “tensions” (with an interjected curse word here and there).

Turning fabric over and scrutinizing stitches.  Muttering about “loopers” and “tensions” (with an interjected curse word here and there).

Twisting knobs to the left and right.  Muttering about “loopers” and “tensions” (with an interjected curse word here and there).

Feeding the same piece of beautiful, albeit scrap, fabric through the machine over and over again.  Muttering about “loopers” and “tensions” (with an interjected curse word here and there).

Did I mention the muttering?  And the cursing?  Okay, I did.  Just checking…

You can tell that Amanda is NOT happy.  And the saying is very true around here…when the boss ain’t happy, ain’t nobody happy!

This unforeseen and highly frustrating slowdown is forcing me to sit in the corner, neglected, and not so patiently wait for my turn to sew.

It makes me sad.  I just want to come out and play!  I’m too pretty to sit in the corner with the dog hair and forgotten dinner crumbs.  I want to sew beautiful stitches on that delicious Freebird fabric by MoMo.  I want to put the finishing touches on that adorable skirt and make Amanda proud.  In the time that we’ve worked together she’s never muttered at me, never cursed at my work nor gotten up and walked away to regain her composure.  I’m steadfast and reliable — swooping in to save the day when Jan is too sick to fulfill her responsibilities.

On a more serious note though (and the intent of this post), I think Jan is really sick.  It’s been going on for a few days now, this giving Amanda fits.  We thought she was fixed the other night but I guess that isn’t the case.  This is the second time she’s had to be taken into the doctors in the last 3 months.  I think this time she won’t come home with us; she’ll have to stay until they figure out what’s wrong and decide how to fix the problem.  With Jan gone, our creativity will halt considerably.  When creativity halts, business does the same.

Although I appreciate the extra attention that comes with her absence, I know it makes Amanda sad.  I keep thinking that maybe if we got a new partner, one who has my work ethic, we wouldn’t continue to run  into these problems.  We could serge and sew to our hearts’ content.  Making beautiful twirl skirts, peasant tops/dresses and pretty fall ruffle pants.

I guess I’m in a common place that so many people find themselves in–working alongside a coworker who calls in sick more often than acceptable, seemingly slowing the entire team down but never getting fired because when they DO work, their work is invaluable.  I long to be on a team that runs efficiently but I know that Amanda’s not in a place to replace Jan.

Out of my loyalty to her (I really do have life well here, I can’t complain at all about her expectations and treatment of me) I’m going out on a limb and trying my hand at winning her that beautiful new Husqvarna Viking s21 Serger thatwill be given away over at Sew Mama Sew’s Blog in September.   So please, readers, throw in your two cents about how much Amanda deserves a headache-free machine to work with and help me win this for her.  It would be really wonderful if she could have a beautiful new serger to work on our team.

Sincerely,

Amanda’s Husqvarna Viking Emerald 203 (aka “Viki”)

_________________________________________________

**Disclaimer: Amanda wants family that contributed to the purchase of her Janome serger to know she truly appreciates the gift and has gotten great use out of it.  She just really wants something nicer and less temperamental to work with considering her workload now.**

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 25, 2010 2:38 pm

    Ah, poor Jan. Or should I say poor Amanda and Viki? It just isn’t fair that you don’t have the reliable help you need! I think that new serger should find a new home with Amanda and Viki…

  2. August 25, 2010 5:51 pm

    Awww… poor Jan is sick and needs some help. Amanda and Viki really deserve to have someone who can show up and do the job. I think a new serger would be a lovely way to make the creative juices flow.

Leave a Reply

